weeks[12].toString(); // End of GSoC 2014!

Hello everyone!

This post is the last weekly blog post of Google Summer of Code 2014.

1. Acknowledgments

First of all, I would like to thank my mentor, Marc Sabatella, for all his help and patience! He was a true mentor during this whole summer, guiding me and responding to my every question (and I tend to put a *lot* of questions! 🙂 ).

I also want to thank the other members of the developing team and MuseScore open source community who helped me and gave me feedback  : Nicolas Froment (lasconic), Joachim Schmitz, Werner Schweer, Maurizio M. Gavioli. 

There were also people outside the MuseScore developing team who were really helpfull and I would like to thank them too: Frederik Gladhorn (accessibility developer for Qt) and Jaffar Ahmad Sidek.

I also want to congratulate all the other GSoC students who worked for MuseScore this summer: Ruchit Agrawal (shredpub), John Pirie (jpirie), Bartłomiej Lewandowski, Maxim Grishin (igevorse).  They all did amazing jobs!

(I hope I didn’t forget anyone here 🙂 ).

2. Review

Lets see what I did this summer:

– Provided accessibility for menus

– Prodivded accessibility for the main window of MuseScore:

     – Restructured actions and shortcuts so they only get triggered for their appropriate widgets.

     – Added accessibility for the toolbar (tab order + screen-reader info)

     – Added accessibility for inspector   (tab order + screen-reader info)

– Provided accessibility for the main dialogs

– Score accessibility (the most important part 🙂 ) – a way for blind users to read the score using the NVDA Screen-Reader

     – Ability to traverse the main elements of the score

     – Screen-reader feedback regarding the selected element and all the annotations/articulations/lyrics/etc (all the attached elements to it).

3. Why this project?

Well, I have to say that beeing a programmer and being passionate about technology doesn’t mean that I get excited about every new app. I’m not the kind of person that uses apps for time schedueling , doesn’t play games and who generally uses the computer/phone just for programming, movies and music (composing and listening). You can say that I’m an atypical geek in this way. 🙂 With this in mind, it’s easy to understand why it would be hard for me to find a project that I can be passionate about. I found MuseScore. This looked like a good organization to find a project; it went very well with my passion for composing music. The first project on their idea list was this one and after talking a bit with Marc, I knew that I simply had to work on it. With this project I could really feel that I was going to make a difference. I have to say that during the time I worked on accessibility I found out that the programs that offer support for it are expensive and the assistive technologies alike. So a free software for writing music, with free support for accessibility (which I would’ve developed) and with the goal to make it compatible first with free screen-readers. For me the alternative for an app that remainds me about a meeting is a sticky post, but the alternative of this project is far more expensive.

4. What is next?

I’ve already talked to Marc Sabatella and I’m commited to continue to develop accessibility for MuseScore. This project was just the begining, it allows the user to find his way through the window and read the score. There are plenty that can be done: score editing, braille displays, braille exports/imports, support for other accessible forms of music notation.

Aside from accessibility development, I will also do translation and… who knows? Ideas for features are certainly not something that is missing from MuseScore. 🙂

5. What I’ve done this week?

This week, I polished and integrated everything that I’ve worked on and fixed all the important bugs.

 

Although I’m not going to be posting every week here, you will certainly view new posts regarding the work I will be doing.

See you soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

